How to: Homemade Pad Thai

I’ve been craving true authentic Thai food, “Pad Thai” in particular, for quite some time now. And catching a glimpse of a gorgeous mango cashew chicken Thai dish on Sarah’s computer was my breaking point. HAD to get some! So I sent the request to my Chef 🙂 🙂. Sarah traveled to Thailand a few months back and totally picked up some sweet skills. She said it was AMAZING and totally misses being there. From what she tells me, it’s ALL about eating. Everything fresh and local fruits, veggies and of course Pad Thai. And the Seafood. OMG. “Even though Franky couldn’t be there with me; it was honestly one of the best trips I ever been on and experienced”.

OKAY….back to Pad Thai…..this is Home-Made Pad Thai with chicken (receipe adapted from Baan Thai Cookery School) but if you are a vegetarian, you can switch out certain ingredients and replace them with veggie friendly products. Here’s your next grocery list and instructions to make these badass dish. Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we did!

source: edit, font via how2home

Google translate…best thing E-V-E-R! [phad-thai] = ไทยผัด <- cool, no?


Ingredients: ** you should be able to find all of these ingredients in your local asian super market, if you live in Toronto (T & T will be your best bet!)

250 grams rice noodle
50 grams chicken (substitute w/ medium firm tofu)
3 tbsp oil
20 grams Chinese chives/spring onion
1 tsp sugar
2 tbsp fish sauce (substitue w/ soy sauce)
2tbsp oyster sauce (substitute w/ mushroom sauce)
1 egg
30 grams bean sprouts/cabbage
1 tbsp chopped garlic
50 grams tofu, cut into 1cm width cube (optional- no tofu in ours…not my cup of gravy:) )
1/2 cup water

** Recipe serves 1

Instructions:


1. Boil some hot water and cook the rice noodles for about 5 minutes
2. Once the noodles are “Al-Dente”, with a strainer; rise the rice noodles with cold water – this ensures the noodles stop cooking from the heat. Set aside.


3. Heat the oil over low heat, add the garlic and stir fry until they’re nice golden and fragrant
4. Add chicken, tofu and stir it until the chicken is cooked (I marinated the chicken w/ small amount of soy sauce, garlic powder, sugar & cornstarch-to make it more flavorful)

5. Break the egg in and spread the egg with chicken
6. Add noodles and water, stir until tender


7. Season with fish sauce, oyster sauce and sugar
8. Add the bean sprouts and spring onion
9. Turn off the heat
10. Serve with fresh lime, ground chilies and grounded peanut (these items are all optional…we only used lime 🙂 )

Enjoy.

Some pics from Sarah’s Feb 2012 Thailand trip.


*photos by how2home

…sharing this ideas at the following fabulous parties:

11 Comments on “How to: Homemade Pad Thai”

  1. Thank you so much for all your kind comments on my blog. I really appreciate them! That Pad Thai looks so good and I think I will make it for the crew here! Sara is so lucky to have travelled to Thailand…I would love to go one day! Did you know that you blogger id says “no-reply comment” which means that no one can reply directly to your comment unless they click thru to your profile. Just wanted to let you know in case you wanted to change that! We have T & T grocery in Edmonton too, and it’s so fun to go there! Have a great week! Angie

  2. Thank you for sharing the recipe! I have tried to make Pad Thai twice, both with un-eatable results. The first time, way too spicy, the second, way to salty. This recipe looks far simpler than both of the other ones I’ve tried. I’m definitely going to give it another shot!

    • how2home says:

      Too spicy eh? When I learned this recipe in Thailand, we only add the ground chili powder(to your liking) as we serve the dish. When you try this next time, remember that Cooking the ground chili powder or any other chili will it brings out the ‘spiciness’ to your whole dish.

      Another trick I learned is to sprinkle in some castor sugar. This balances the spiciness of the Pad Thai and make it even tastier 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    Another great post – your photos are fantastic! I have always failed at Pad Thai – I might have to try again… 🙂

  4. That looks delicious. We love asian food, but I’ve never made Pad Thai – I need to give it a try.

  5. I have a question about following your blog – I don’t like to follow by email because it clutters up my email and I can’t seem to find any way to follow by Google Reader which is my usual way. Any suggestions?

  6. […] course, you can’t forget about Sarah making this delicious Pad Thai dish (which we totally recommend you trying at home). AND, my favorite,  Coca-Cola cupcakes what […]

  7. Meagan says:

    So happy to have a good pad Thai recipe finally! It has always been one dish I sucked at making!!!!!


Leave a Reply

